Monday, June 9, 2014

Weekend Wrap Up

Okay so Saturday was a rest day. This summer, Steve works 12 hour days on Saturday which pretty much leaves me in the apartment cleaning and binging on Netflix unless I have plans.  This Saturday I walked Gotham, did laundry, hung out outside, and watched some Netflix.  Super fun day.  I needed it, though.

So Saturday I wasn't really hungry until 11am so I had something lunchy. Flat Out makes wraps and I used to use the wraps for pizzas, but now they make specific pizza Flat Outs! I used one to make a pizza with jalapeno and pineapple. Let me tell you, this is a fantastic combination. You're missing out if you haven't tried it.

I forgot to take a picture of "lunch" - I ate around 3pm.  I had 1/2 a whole wheat pita  with 2oz of sandwich ham and 1 slice of Munster cheese with sliced cucumbers and a tablespoon of hummus.

I wanted something sweet so I had some Earl Grey tea with a little honey and fat free half and half around 5pm

Steve wasn't going to be home for dinner until like 9pm and at 7pm I was hungry so I had some of this left over low cal mac and cheese I made. It has squash in the sauce rather than a bunch of butter and flour. You can't even tell, it is fantastic. I had one serving which is around 227 calories.

I was going to make buffalo chicken drumsticks and corn. After the chicken drumsticks defrosted, they did NOT smell good anymore. I was not happy at all. I HATE wasting food. I improvised. I had left over pulled pork from an event I went to and garlic bread. Pulled pork is great on toasted garlic bread so we had that for dinner with corn on the cob. Steve had two pieces of bred with pork. I had one piece of garlic bread with 2 oz of sauced pulled pork.

I had been craving cookie butter all day (probably because I have it like every day and hadn't had any yet) so I had a few calories left and had a piece of bread with a 1/2tbsp of cookie butter with some tea.

Okay so Sunday be prepared for a disgusting amount of food, especially carbs. Seriously the amount of carbs I had is terrible but it was a cheat day. We still went to the gym, but I was definitely over my calorie goals, even after burning 1000 calories.  One day will not ruin your diet as long as it is not frequent. We were celebrating Steve's first week of class ending and wanted to go out for dinner and dessert.
For breakfast I had a piece of toast with my cookie/almond butter blend and then ate a Chobani yogurt in the car on the way to Gotham's check up a the vet.  We went to the gym right after.

Here is the burn from the gym. My muscles were sore yesterday and I was struggling to make it through a few of the moves.  I was not feeling strong, but I did it.


We always have bagels on Sunday after the gym before we go to the store. It is our little tradition. We went ahead and did it knowing that we were eating like crap that night. Bad life choice number 1. 
 I had a toasted Sesame bagel with cream cheese, lox, red onion and capers.  I also had a cup of coffee with splenda and half and half.  Seriously this is usually my Sunday splurge and it makes me so happy.
Okay dinner. Whew. We went to Sabatino's in Little Italy for dinner.  We have been one time before and we enjoy it. It's like eating at your grandmother's house. We had this shrimp appetizer with cheese and pancetta on it. It was delicious and we basically each had two shrimp.

I also had restaurant bread, because it's delicious.  Also restaurant butter is the best butter. It's not good for you but it is SO delicious.  I also had the house salad with house dressing. I did not finish it. You can't see how big this garden salad is in this picture, but it's a large side salad. I also had a glass of wine with dinner. I swear I took a picture, but I guess not. 

For dinner, I ordered the tortellini in tortellini sauce.  It is meat and cheese tortellini in a tomato cream sauce with ground veal and peas. It was SO good.

Steve got ricotta gnocchi in alfredo sauce and they put mozzarella on top and melted it in the oven. Oh.my.GOD. it was like light fluffy pillows of ricotta and alfredo heaven. Honestly it was fantastic. I ate like four of his gnocchi.

Neither one of us finished. Lunch for us! I noticed that I ate a LOT slower than I used to and realized I was full faster, which is a big deal.  In the past, we both would have finished those pastas no problem. 

We went to Vaccaro's for dessert which is down the street.
I had Pizelle alla Napolitano. Chocolate, strawberry, and pistachio gelato with pizelle cookies. Steve had a granella which is granita with vanilla gelato.

He had raspberry with chocolate sprinkles/jimmies.We split the mini canoli sampler, too. Needless to say we didn't finish this either.



All in all, after working out I was only around 150 calories over but the nutritional break down is gross.


It's nice to celebrate once in a while with food. We enjoy food and you can't restrict yourself all the time, but this is NOT something you should do often.  This isn't something we do often at all but I am not going to feel guilty about it.

Last night I tried on old prom dresses. My dress from senior year was too big in the waist and bust but tighter in the hips.  My prom dress from junior year was tight but I could zip it up and breathe.  They fit differently and it's funny because 1. I'm ten years older. 2. I have muscles and my body isn't this size just from fat.  I still have a lot to lose but it's nice to see that progress and one day those dresses will be too big.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...